India cricket team

Why India team is wearing orange jerseys?

Why India team is wearing orange jerseys?
Print A+ A-

Gaza Post- india

The Indian team will be seen wearing the jersey against England on June 30 (Sunday) where the hosts will don the traditional light blue colours.

While the sporting spectrum was expected to be triggered with reactions as soon as India's orange 'away' kit for the ICC World Cup 2019 was officially unveiled on Friday, the political spectrum too expressed its take, especially on the colour of the kit. A change in colours was required, as per the new International Cricket Council (ICC) mandate, but the question over why the 'Orange' colour was selected is being asked all across the country.

The ICC suggested that for World Cup matches, if there happens to be a clash in the colour of the jerseys, the designated away team will wear alternate colours. Just like India, England, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka wear blue coloured jerseys and hence there was a need to mark a distinction. Even in the Afghanistan vs India clash, the Afghans had worn their away kit (red and blue), as per the ICC verdict.

As for the colour of India's jersey, an ICC source had confirmed while speaking to ANI news agency that multiple colour options were given to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to choose from. It is believed that keeping the fan connection in mind, the BCCI went with orange themed jersey as an existing T20 kit already had this colour. (Follow Live Updates: IND vs ENG, WC 2019)


"Colour options were given to BCCI and they chose the colour combination that looked the best to them. The whole idea is to be different from blue as England also wears the same shade of blue as India," an ICC source told ANI.

"Also the design (orange) is taken from India's old T20 jersey which had orange in it. The designers who are sitting in the USA designed this jersey from something that already existed and not something completely new that fans don't identify with," the source added.

The teams who have been exempted from such a change are Australia, New Zealand and West Indies as they wear unique shades of yellow, black and maroon respectively.

Source: TIMESON NEWS .com



Add Comment